The (not Big, not Fat) Quiz of 2016…a speech and communication blog.

It’s hard to believe we’re now in the countdown to 2017. I’m not sure where the last 12 months have gone…there’s some months that I’m sure we must have skipped (or sign of my failing memory).

J and I have been ‘tagged’ to share the highlights of our 2016 by the lovely Jacqueline at Life, Love and Chaos and fabulous Kayley at Friendly First Foods so here we go…


What was your highlight of 2016?

That’s an easy one. It has to be our family holiday to Feurteventura. J had Mummy and Daddy, Grandparents, Auntie and 2 cousins so it was a very exciting experience. The hotel was amazing, weather was wonderful and the beach was right in front of us (and Mummy had lots of Sangria).

The best part was that is was the first time J (20m at that point) begun pointing. We were near to the airport so aeroplanes regularly flew over. By the third day J was pointing to them all. I can’t tell you how much it meant that J was finally communicating with a purpose…to get us to look at what had interested him.

Name one thing you are likely to remember about 2016 if asked in five years time?

That has to be J learning to walk. In March (15m) J decided to not just take his first step but to walk from the sofa to the TV (a good 5 steps). It was so out of the blue too so was such a surprise. I cried! Big floods of tears. So much so that I’m surpised it didn’t scare J off from ever walking again.

Sum up 2016 in one word

Family

Name one pearl of wisdom from 2016 that you will carry through 2017.

Accept that you can’t control everything…not everything will go from ‘a to b’. It has been a big lesson for me. As soon as I found out I was pregnant I ate the right food, took my vitamins and followed all the ‘guidelines’. Then I made sure J ate the right food, went to the right sensory baby groups and had lots of interactions. So when he regressed at 9m and then failed to make any real progress with speech or communicating I believed I was just fundamentally a bad Mum. That I had done something wrong.

These thoughts do creep in occasionally but I have learnt to accept that not everything follows a straight path and sometimes it doesn’t matter what you did or didn’t do. Sometimes things are just the way it is. What I can control is how I react to it and what I do to help J.

Do you have any new year resolutions?

Survive!

How are you seeing in the new year?

Once J is in bed the hubby and I are having Chinese, a sneaky glass of wine and watching a movie. We might make it midnight, but I’ll more than likely be asleep, haha.

What are your main goals for 2017

  • Continue with speech therapy and get J to use single words.
  • Eat better (all 3 of us).
  • Build up our blog and figure out what I’m actually doing!
  • Get a bigger house. We have outgrown our very small 2 bedroom. I’m looking for a 3 bed with separate dining room or conservatory.
  • Be happy. That’s always a good goal to have.

So, I hope you all have an amazing 2017. See you there 🙂

I now tag: Maria at Suburban Mum. Alex at Better Together Home ❤

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Kayley says:

    Perfect word to sum up 2016! Loved reading this 🙂 Here’s to a happy new year for you and your family! (And I hope your planned move goes well!) Xxx

    Like

    1. mummyest2014 says:

      Thanks Kayley, happy new year to you and family x

      Like

  2. Ahhh, lovely – sounds like it was a year full of big moments and happy memories! I think that’s great advice about how knowing that sometimes things just are the way they are and it’s out of our control. Especially as parents we tend to blame ourselves for everything, sometimes unnecessarily! Happy new year, I hope 2017 brings you lots of joy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. mummyest2014 says:

      Aw thanks, glad it made sense to someone. I thought maybe I’d jus come across a bit of a control freak haha (actually in many ways I am!). Thanks for reading and happy 2017 to you and family x

      Like

Leave a Reply

