I have a ‘Toilet Manager’….

Today was one of those typical parenting moments where I wanted the toilet and was accompanied by J who has taken on the role of ‘toilet manager’.

He’s more than just a monitor who keeps check on where I am and what I’m doing. J will select a cream from the cabinet and rub it on my legs and arms…I daren’t say no as it leads to emptying said cabinet which is a struggle I just can’t be bothered to deal with at 6am!


Once he’s finished taking control of my skincare routine J will push me off the toilet (his way of telling me to get up, not just randomly being mean to me). I am usually done by then thankfully, but there is the odd time that I have to ask the manager for a deadline extension, haha.

Once I am up, J will give me a clap and a smile, and then flush the toilet and close the lid…usually several times as he likes the noise it makes when it slams.


Once my ‘toilet manager’ is satisfied that this part of the day is complete then we can both leave the bathroom and go on with our day.

Lately, J has become my style guru (pulling all the clothes out of the drawers), his own stylist (pulling all his clothes out the wardrobe) and my bodyguard. He follows me everywhere and has to get involved in everything.

I admit I am secretly loving it. I love that he wants to be with me, I love that we have these little routines and I love that I am part of that motherhood memory where I can later say “oh yes I remember when I couldn’t even go to loonwithout him being there’. It’s like a right of passage.

With J having his additional qualities that make him a challenge at times, it can be such a great feeling to have the ‘normal’ parenting issues. So, I have a Toilet Manager and am proud.

How many of you Mums and Dads are able to go to the toilet without your cheer leaders, or do you have your own Toilet Managers? What other ‘rights of passages’ did you enjoy or look forward to?x

7 Comments Add yours

  1. kwillmer says:

    Love this. I don’t remember the last time I went to the toilet without Lily. She insists on sitting on my knee every time (I’ve learnt not to refuse this!) then we flush the toilet together and we wave “bubyee wee wee”!! We then both wash our hands together (“haaand”) and she demands the towel (“towaaa”). Just hoping it helps the routine when we potty train her 😂 though recently sge announced to an entire cafe my mum (“Gaga”) was going to the toilet by shouting “gaga wee wee” across the cafe 😂😂 on a more serious note she does sometimes get panicky if she thinks someone like me or mum is leaving her but if we say they are going for a weewee she knows they are coming back and isn’t so panicked! Keep up the amazing work. I can’t wait to get settled then finally write a blog again!!! x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. mummyest2014 says:

      I use the ‘just going for a wee’ trick too. Amazing how well it works…although if someone says ‘Mummy’s going for a wee’ then J yells because he wants to go with me. It’s just everyone else that’s allowed to go to the toilet (and the pretend toilet haha)x

      Like

  2. Kim Carberry says:

    hehehe! This made me smile…
    My girls are 10 & 15 and now I finally get to go to the toilet alone…Hooray!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. mummyest2014 says:

      I look forward to those days haha. J even brings me toys to play with on the loo now x

      Like

  3. Ojo Henley says:

    I’ve given up shutting the door, because even the dog won’t let me go in peace! lol x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. mummyest2014 says:

      Haha…toilet doors are overrated anyway 😂 x

      Like

Leave a Reply

