Happy Fathers Day…an interview with the man who gave me J x

Happy Fathers Day! Whether you celebrate the day with the father of your child, step father, grandfather, great grandfather…or whoever is your child’s male role model, I hope you are having a lovely day.


J’s Daddy is having a lie in this morning and J and I are preparing his presents and card. This year we decided not buy big gifts for Mother’s Day and Father’s Day. Instead J has made a certificate at preschool for Daddy and I brought us all matching pendants so no matter where we all are, we are all linked (or maybe this is modern day ‘branding’ haha). I love that we all have a ‘family bear’.


(From @Rj_apparel…find her on Instagram)  

Today is going to be a busy day as we’ve been to the Cars on the Green with Daddy, Grandad T and Great Grandad, then later we are going for dinner with J’s Grandad S. J is lucky to have so many strong male role models in his life. Funnily enough none of them talk about J’s difficulties and all have the opinion that ‘he’s just our little man’. I love this as that’s exactly right. As Mummy I will be the one to panic and go to all the meetings and appointments. I just want the rest of the world to just see J for his strengths and character.


Anyway, you know my opinions on things so today I thought I’d introduce Daddy. I thought a Daddy POV could be helpful…

Hi love, are you ready?

When did you first feel like a ‘Daddy’?

‘When J was put in my arms in the hospital…it was just overwhelming’

What was your first thought when I gave you the ‘pee stick’?

(Lots of laughter) ‘A rush of emotions but mostly just happiness…apart from the obvious ‘am I ready for this’ and ‘what if it doesn’t go to term’ then I was happy again’

When did you first have the gut feeling that there was something ‘different’ about J?

‘It’s difficult for me as i’ve never really seen him as ‘different’ just J. I guess it was when he was babbling and then stopped and it didn’t come back’ 

How did it make you feel when we got the diagnosis on Wednesday? (I realise I sound like a weird ‘shrink’)

‘I feel ok, that’s fine…it’s just a term really but it’s nice to know that there’s a reason for everything and SCD is the reason for him’

What’s your hopes for J’s future?

‘I hope for him to have lots of friends and be able to have everything. Meet a partner…someone that makes him happy. To be able to go through life without being singled out…and for him to always love Mummy and Daddy’

What’s your favourite ‘Daddy moment’ so far?

‘Erm…that’s a tough one! One thing is seeing how emotional he was at In the Night Garden Live. Ohhh…the first time he said Daddy always makes me smile. Make me happy!’

Do you think Dad’s get as much say or input in the whole assessment process as Mothers?

‘Yeah, its mostly mum’s who dedicate themselves to it but never felt I couldn’t make a point. I offer my opinion but very seldom do I feel I have fight. Sometimes I disagree but most of time it’s good’

What advice would you give to a Daddy going through the assessment process and beyond?

‘Love your child. Never worry about being different…they’re never ‘less’. Just love them for who they are and you will never have a moment where it brings you down. It doesn’t matter if he has all the problems under the sun he’ll always be my boy’


❤️ 💛💚💙💜🖤

Enjoy the rest of your day and here are some fab Fathers Day crafts for those who want to have fun making something ‘homemade’ for the man in their little ones lives:

Fathers Day Cards by Raw Childhood
DIY gifts By Emma Reed
Origami Shirts By My Family of Roses
Homemade gifts By Blissful Domestication
More craft ideas By Bobsys Mum
Celebration Cards  By Clare’s Little Tots.

What are you all up to today?

xXx

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Donna says:

    What a lovely interview! Thanks for linking to my crafts. Hope you all have a great day. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. mummyest2014 says:

      It was a very busy day. So much so I didn’t realize the blog has posted the unedited version haha. Just correct the terrible grammar haha. Hope you’ve had a lovely day x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

